Minutes of the Meeting of the Ph.D. Committee of the West Bengal University of Health Sciences, held on 12th June 2013 at 2PM at the Chamber of the Dean of West Bengal University of Health Sciences under the Chairmanship of Prof. Manoj Ghosh, Pro-Vice Chancellor.

Members Present

- 1) Prof. Manoj Ghosh, Pro-Vice Chancellor, WBUHS
- 2) Prof. Q. M. Rahaman, Registrar, WBUHS
- 3) Mr. K. P. Sinha, Controller of Examinations, WBUHS
- 4) Prof. Plaban Mukherjee, Dean, Faculty of Modern Medicine, WBUHS
- 5) Prof. Tapan Lahiri, Principal, Medical College, Kolkata
- 6) Prof. Joydip Biswas, Director, Calcutta National Cancer Institute
- 7) Prof. G K. Dhali, Professor of Post Doctoral Department, IPGME&R
- 8) Prof. Subir Das, Undergraduate Deptt. COM & JNM Hospital, Kalyani
- 9) Prof. Sekhar Chakraborty, Director-in-Charge, NICED, Kolkata
- Prof. Madhumita Majumdar, PG Teacher (Dental), R. Ahmed Dental College, Kolkata
- Prof. Aparna BHaduri, PG Teacher, College of Nursing, Medical College, Kolkata
- 12) Prof. Badal Jana, PG Teacher, Institute of Post-Graduate Ayurved College & Research, Shyamadas Shastri Bidyapith

The Pro-Vice Chancellor took the Chair and extended a hearty welcome to all the members present in the Ph.D. Committee Meeting.

Initiating the discussion, the Chairman stated that the Minutes of the previous Meeting of Ph. D. Committee, list of the students who have submitted the final synopsis, new regulation of Ph.D. and list of new applicants for new session of Ph.D. course have been given in the Folder.

He requested all the members to go through the Minutes of the Ph. D. Committee held on 22nd April 2013 and requested the members if there is any dissenting views on this otherwise it will be adopted. He also stated that in

.....2

place of old regulations, the new regulations have taken place and on the basis of the new regulations, the new Ph. D. committee have been formed. Prof. Q. M. Rahaman, Registrar wanted to know whether due process has been observed while formulating new regulations and formation of new committee. The Chairman stated that the new regulations would be ratified by the Executive Council later on.

Regarding guidelines for entrance test it has been stated under Section J(4) that there will be 50 questions in all of which 15 general aptitude questions, 10 questions from the research Methodology and 25 questions from the subject concerned. To this Prof. Q. M. Rahaman, Registrar remarked that since the topics of the research proposal are different, whether question will be based on individual topic or on scientific subject encompassing different sub-sections of Life Science. During discussion Prof. Aparna Bhaduri suggested that candidate may be asked to write an essay on the subject or on review of literature in the scientific format as is being practiced for publication which was appreciated by the Registrar. Prof. Sekhar Chakraborty wanted to know what will be the broad subjects for Ph.D. under WBUHS which should be specified as has been the practice of Calcutta University. Regarding the entrance examination for Ph.D. Mr. K. P. Sinha, Controller of Examinations stated that University can organize the entrance examination and the questions may be collected from subject experts apart from the question bank in possession of the University.

Regarding eligibility criterion of the Supervisors, one member suggested that Assistant Professor with 5 years experience as teacher may be allowed to be Supervisor to which Registrar stated that Supervisor should be not below the rank of Associate Professor but Assistant Professor with Ph.D. or PG teaching experience of more than 8 years may also be considered.

After a threadbare discussion the house adopted the minutes.

.....3

- 2 -

On Agenda No. 2, the Chairman invited the members to decide regarding new applications.

The application of the following Ph.D. aspirants has been considered for Entrance/Interview Examination for admission to Ph.D. Course.

1) Mrs. Sheuli Sen	Approved	
2) Palash Kumar Mandal	Approved but query against two co-supervisors whether they are Ph.D.	
3) Arunima Chaudhuri	O.K. (approved)	
4) Moumita Ray	O.K. (Approved)	
5) Mrs. Rupali Biswas (Sen)	Entrance Examination	
6) Nirmalya Roy	O.K. (approved)	
7) Namita Bhowmick	O.K. but Query against guide.	
8) Kalyan Khan	O.K. (Approved)	
9) Durba Chakraborty	O.K. (Approved)	
10) Sharmistha Biswas	Clearance from Animal Ethical Committee	
11) Madhumita Debnath	OK (Approved)	
12) Himangsu Hait	O. K. (Approved)	
13) Soumita Choudhuri	O.K. (Approved)	
14) Munmun Das	O.K. (Approved)	
15) Prasanta Kumar Bhattacharya I.E.C. required		
16) Kalyan Kusum Mukherjee	O.K. (Approved)	
17) Shabnam Zahir	O.K. (Approved)	
18) Uttam Kumar Maji	O.K. subject to clearance from	
	Animal Ethical Committee	
19) Debanjali Dasgupta	O.K. Ethical clearance from Agartala.	
	Govt. Medical College is needed	
20) Sampa Dutta Gupta	N.O.C. & I.E.C. required	
21) Monojit Debnath	I.E.C. required.	

.....4

	- 4 -	
22) Jayanta Chowdhury	Cancelled	
23) Soumi Srimani	O.K. (Approved)	
24) Joyeta Ghosh	Cancelled	
25) Lina Dutta Bagchi	Cancelled	
26) Tarun Kanti Sen	Cancelled	
27) Abhirup Bandyopadhyay	He should be asked to change the guide.	
	IEC from Medical College is also needed.	
28) Priyanka Kumari	O.K. (Approved)	
29) Mousumi Khatun	O.K. (Approved)	
30) Chittaranjan Kundu	I.E.C. to be submitted.	

Agenda No. 3 – Date of the entrance test and interview will be determined after the question is set.

Agenda No. 4 – Existing Ph.D. committee is to function in this regard.

The Registrar opined that let the Controller of Examinations to take the responsibility of the examination and send letters to the examiner concerned who will set the question.

The House approved the proposal.

Agenda No. 5 - The names of the following experts have been considered for pre-Ph.D. Seminar by the House. The date for the seminar would be finalized after the same is discussed with the experts.

1) Harshada KisanKangne	Prof. Malay Ghosh, Prof. Utpal Chowdhury Prof. Kanjakshya Ghosh
2) Preethi Satish Nair	Prof. Malay Ghosh, Prof. Utpal Chowdhury Prof. Kanjakshya Ghosh
3) Swati Nandi	Prof. B. N. Guha Majumdar, Prof. Madhumita Roy, CNCI Dr. R. C. Srivastava

Chairman